You’re Standing On It

I’m sure at some point, you’ve heard someone say: “You always look past what’s right in front of your face.”

How cliché?  To find true happiness, one must simplify- stop reaching and start being, blehhhhhh. I’ve heard it all before, too, but the lesson finally eternalized itself in me as a mound of dirty snow.

The other day, the weather was stunning.  As I walked back to my Hall after my last class of the day, I noticed the sun melting over the buildings.  The entire campus shimmered gold like it had been dipped in honey.  It felt warm, even though it was around 10 degrees.  I walked slower than usual, just to relish how awesome it felt. When I made it back to my room, I suggested to my roommate, Ian, that we take a drive just to enjoy this weather.  He replied by grabbing his keys and pulling on his jacket. I called our friend, Sam, and she met us down by the car.  We got in and Ian drove.

We ended up way east of campus, on some side roads, hidden by tall trees on either side.  The sun flickered from behind them as we drove.  I couldn’t help but smile; I was with two of my favorite people in what I would soon determine to be my favorite winter-weather, listening to my favorite music over the speakers.  The sky overhead was vibrant, like a painting; I had become the subject in the middle of gorgeously crafted, still drying, canvas.

We pulled up to an intersection that’s red light agreed we should spend just a little more time out in this weather.  As we came to a halt, I analyzed the scene in front of me.  There was a snow-covered field, backed by a line of bare trees.  How typical, I thought as I stared off, that I look dramatically into the distance.  In that second, I turned my attention to the curb just outside my window.  A mound of dirty, melting snow sat next to me, right outside my window.  The way the sun hit it, though, complimented it.  Like everything else on that day, this mound of dirty snow appeared elegant and golden.  My eyes were fixated on this pile of snow as the car began to move.  I wanted the car to stop, just so I could continue to admire this scene, but the green light suggested my time with the snow should end.  As we continued to drive, it hit me.  I laughed at myself for wanting to continue looking at the curb, and then began to ask myself why I wanted just a second more to admire it.  I realized, if I never peeled my eyes off of the scene off in the distance, I never would have seen the curb.  And that’s where this post comes full circle.

Often times, I am caught up with looking at the end result, like the trees and the field way far away.  How easy is it, and how often do we look over some of the neatest things in life?  You know how many curbs I have completely ignored in my lifetime?  A lot.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, while it’s important to keep moving forward, sometimes you can find happiness right underneath your feet.

Leave a Reply

