Seth Godin’s “Your Relationship with the Future.”

Pioneer of Squidoo and New York Times best selling author, Seth Godin blogs regularly to update his followers on philosophical and leadership-esque insights.  After exploring his blog, I came across his post, titled “Your Relationship with the Future.” In college, all anyone ever talks about is the future.  What do you want to do with your life? What do you think about the future of our government? Where do you want to eventually live?  Blahhh… Being a college student with a very loose idea of what he wants to do with his life, this post halted me from scrolling any further.  I read, reread, and reread the post. Seth outlines two possible relationships with the future: one an optimist’s take to life; the other, a pessimist’s.  To Seth, your relationship with the future is a personal and important decision, but essentially irrelevant.  According to Seth, the future is both exciting and risky.   Whichever way you see the future, Seth declares it as inevitable, and to accept it!

Image

My current relationship with future is one of optimism.  I have so much to which I can look forward.  Starting in the fall, I will be an RA in Kulhavi Hall, be rooming with my absolute best friend, be working towards my Computer Engineering Major, guiding my mentee through his or her first semester of college, and planning my study abroad trip to Germany.  With so much good in front of me, it’s hard to think that “each day is a step closer to the end.”  I’d say my relationship with my future is perfect for me in this moment; however, it fluctuates. Throughout high school, my relationship was a little more dismal than it is now.  I was reluctant to soon be attending CMU, bored with waking up each morning under my parent’s roof, and tired of high school busy work.  Looking back, however, I am so grateful for all of those things. My relationship with the future then, although pessimistic, has made me even more grateful for my present.

I agree with Godin; both relationships with the future are irrelevant, because what will happen will happen. Furthermore, I think the most important relationship you can have with the future stems from the relationship you have with the present.  If your relationship with the present is similar to mine is now, full of gratitude, than you’re set.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 4.30.27 PM

Leave a Reply

