Roots

A Reflection of PSC 105L and HST 110L, both required classes under LAS protocol.

As a LAS cohort, we took an Introduction to American Government (PSC 105L) and The American Experience (HST 110L) together.  At first, I cringed at the idea of discussing history and politics in any context, because I grew up resenting politicians and the inter workings of our government; and because, history and politics always bored me. So, I entered these classes with a bitter attitude, planning to loathe them both.

Our Political Science class covered the fundamentals of our government, including it’s structure, functions, and our basic rights as citizens.  This sounds like it could lag, however, our professor did an incredible job of sparking heated debate and enthusiastic conversation amongst our class.  Class discussion never failed to engage me and a solid majority of the class.  On some accounts, the class would irk emotions I would never have expected to emerge in a political science discussion!

The biggest thing I pulled from this class was how incredibly intricate and and well thought out the Constitution actually is. Having to spend critical time analyzing the rights enlisted in our constitution and the reasoning behind them was eye-opening.  It was so interesting to me to read about the roots of our government! Throughout studying this, I gained a new appreciation and pride in being American.

In contrast, The American Experience History class sparked very little interest in me.  I rarely felt enthusiastic in class, and had to make a painstaking effort to stay focused in class due to how intriguing  the content was not.  In correspondence with leadership in education, however, our history class out-shined our government class. Our professor made sure to incorporate lessons that detailed leadership practices by certain figures in history, and instructed us to pick a leader in american history to write a term paper about.  I chose Steve Jobs, for a multitude of reasons, including his leadership in the industry through persistent innovation and inarguable resilience.

The biggest thing I learned from History was that, our country is unlike any other, because we are a continuous work in progress.  We have yet to settle for anything, which for some can be aggravating, but from my perspective, is admirable.  We address issues, we don’t ignore them.  America continues to propel forward, because we work towards making change.  At our birth, the founding father’s implemented a plan that wasn’t concrete; it had wiggle room for the future.  This wiggle-room came in handy during times of war, any large movement, including the Civil Rights movement, and much more. It’s truly impressive, and instills a pride in me.

I can combine what I learned from both of these classes and apply it to my major, because I hope to impact history through computer engineering.  By following trends in our history and government, I can plan for the future of our society and incorporate my passion for technological developments to leave a legacy.

A song to accompany this post:

Leave a Reply

